Italy

If you were ever given the choice to only travel through one country in Europe, it would have to be Italy.  I say that because the country has so much to offer, stretching from the mountains of the Alps and Dolomites in the North, to the fields and vineyards of Tuscany in the center, down to amazing cliff side towns along the Amalfi Coast in the south.  Italy has everything.  I have the most pictures and spent the most time in Italy (3 weeks) than anywhere else (except for Prague where I studied).  As I said before, I will even be going back to Italy for 3 more weeks this summer because I missed out on Tuscany during my last visit.  The variety of landscapes is amazing, not to mention all the iconic cities that you can tour.  I am more of a fan of small towns and landscapes, but even I was amazed by the architecture in Rome, and will also be traveling to Florence this summer (as well as the Amalfi Coast and 3 day hike through Tuscany).  Here are my favorites of the parts of Italy I have been to (so far), and there will be more to come soon!

i1035 FW1.1

Manarola, Cinque Terre – one of the 5 towns that make up the Cinque Terre Region (5 Terraces)

i1035 FW1.1

Small farm hut in the Alpe di Siusi in Northern Italy near Bolzano.  The Alpe di Siusi is said to be the largest alpine meadow in the Alps, and I spent a day hiking through the meadow and up the sides of the mountains.  It is off the beaten path, but definitely worth a day or two, or five to enjoy the vastness of the grass meadow situated atop the mountains.

i1035 FW1.1

Riomaggiore – my favorite part of Cinque Terre and the southernmost town of the 5 terraces.  This is where I stayed for 2 days, and will be spending a week here in July.  As you can see from the picture, the bay in front of the town is perfect for swimming, and is surrounded by large rocks (that I am standing on to take this picture), so it feels safer than swimming in the open ocean.  You can also cliff jump for the rocks on the left side of the photo.

i1035 FW1.1

Panorama of the Alpe di Siusi meadow.  Amazing that this large open field is located on the top of a mountain range.  I recommend clicking on this photo to enlarge it.

i1035 FW1.1

How could you go hiking without a few of these?

i1035 FW1.1

Mountain peaks above the small town of Siusi.  The town, and Bolzano as well, had signs in both Italian and German despite being part of Italy, a remnant of altered borders following WWII.

i1035 FW1.1

A storm approaching Santa Margherita, the larger city outside of the small seaside town of Portofino.

i1035 FW1.1

Beautiful colors on all of the houses.

i1035 FW1.1

Portofino with Santa Margherita in the background.

i1035 FW1.1

Above view of Portofino

i1035 FW1.1

I wasn’t a huge fan of Venice because I am convinced it is a huge maze designed to trap tourists on the island to spend all of their money (it took my friends and I 4 hours to find our way off the island, even with the help of maps and signs), but you can’t deny its beauty.

i1035 FW1.1

Gondola in venice.  Be prepared to shell out some cash for them (40 Euro).  I never did so I cannot tell you what it was like.  A cheaper alternative is going to a corner shop, buying a nice 3 euro bottle of delicious Italian wine or Limoncello (Italian liqueur – very sweet but tastes amazing if you cut it with Tonic water) and finding a canal to sit by as I was doing when I took this photo.  Best time spent in Venice.

Alpe Di Siusi 4

More Alpe di Siusi, and some of the blooming flowers in mid-May

AlpeDiSiusi2

Small stream from snow-melt in the Alpe di Siusi

Portofino2

Another view of Portofino.  A beautiful town but seems to only be supported by tourism, questioning its authenticity.

Venice

Another view from the canal we chose to spend our day on.

Portofino

Authentic or not, Portofino is a must visit.

Alpe Di Siusi

View from atop a hill of the Alpe di Siusi.  Love the range of colors in this photo.

RiomaggioreMore Riomaggiore

9 responses to “Italy

  1. I love Italy so much that I have to move there soon! I’ve actually been traveling back and forth and partly living there since winter 2010. And now it hopefully will be for good. It’s a wonderful and beautiful country with lovely people once you get to know them. Thank you for those amazing photos! I have taken my fair share of pictures all over Italy and I never get enough. I can see myself going on for years to come trying to capture this amazing country. I agree, if only able to visit one country in Europe it has to be Bella Italia! Kindly, Artis. Ps. Venice and Limoncello are a must!

  2. Reblogged this on and commented:
    Fantastic post and beautiful photos of my beloved Italia. Higly recommend it!

    • Thank you! I completely agree, there are so many things to see. There are a lot of places I haven’t been yet that I hope to go to in the future, but I feel a return to Italy is much more important.

      • Enjoy! I am going as soon as I can. Hopefully in July and then I will work my way down to the Amalfi coast. I have to see all those beautiful towns and of course cinque terre 🙂 As much I think the heat can be too much sometimes, somehow I still love it! All the best!

      • I’ll be there in July as well. Florence, 3 day hike in Tuscany, Amalfi Coast, and a week in Cinque Terre. Feel free to send recommendations my way!

      • If you haven´t been to “my” city, Bologna, I can highly recommend it! A University city with fantastic houses, restaurants and a cosy down town. Full of life 🙂 And of course Roma! I have been quickly to Tuscany but only to Pisa. I can´t say I want to recommend anyone to go there. Not my kinda city… I didn´t feel any warmth there like I´ve felt in the other cities. But I bet Florence is going to be fantastic. Also one city to avoid, the caothic Bari. It has it´s charm, but only outside the city center. Very easy to get lost and confused. All the streets/houses look the same… Little bit like Venice but not as beautiful…

      • ok I will see if I can make to Bologna, sounds like a good place to go. I’ve heard bad things about Pisa from friends too and have no desire to go there, not even to get my leaning tower picture. I have actually been to Bari for a few hours (only to catch a ferry to Dubrovnik, Croatia). It was nice but I didn’t see much other than a few churches.

      • Bologna is only about 1h away from Florence 🙂 I saw the tower in Pisa but I could as well have skipped it :/ Yes, Bari has some nice bits and pieces. Italy is full of wonderful places so focus on those 🙂 Have a great trip! If you ever come to Bologna I´ll buy you a coffee! Or maybe a icecold Limoncello 🙂 Alex

  3. You can now add to your resume, photographer and travel writer. You know I’ve always wanted to go back to Italy. After seeing these beautiful pics, I really hope it can happen. I loved Florence. Miss you, love, Nana

Leave a Reply

