Swiss Alps

This week I have photos from the Swiss Alps.  Unfortunately, I only was able to visit 2 different cities in Switzerland, Interlaken and Lucerne, but both provided some pretty incredible views of the surrounding mountains.  I had planned on doing some backcountry hiking, but because it was only May, the snow had not melted and most of the trails were closed.  In the future, I definitely plan to revisit the Alps and will undertake a more extensive hiking journey through the region.

i1035 FW1.1

The river that flows through Interlaken, connecting the two lakes that surround the town.  (Inter-laken = between the lakes)

i1035 FW1.1

Lucerne in late afternoon with Mt. Pilatus in the background.  You can go to the top of Mt. Pilatus, which I unfortunately did not have the time to do.

i1035 FW1.1

Interlaken is often called the extreme sports capital of the world.  You can see people paragliding in the background over the town that is situated in a valley between 2 lakes.  While an amazing experience, be prepared to pay around 300 euro for the ride.  The lake picture here is Lake Thun (Thunersee) and is the western border of the town.

i1035 FW1.1

Train in Interlaken near the Jungfrau region

i1035 FW1.1

Lake Lucerne

i1035 FW1.1

Lake Brienz (Brienzersee) acts as the eastern border of the town.

karte_gross

Here is a graphic that sums up the entire Interlaken region.  Such a unique town

i1035 FW1.1

Hiking in the Jungfrau region outside of Interlaken


i1035 FW1.1

View of Interlaken and Lake Thun

i1035 FW1.1

Hiking in the Jungfrau region outside of Interlaken

i1035 FW1.1

Small alpine meadow in the Jungfrau region

i1035 FW1.1

Salzburg, Austria.  While not part of Switzerland, I currently do not have enough photos from Austria for a separate post.  However, I felt this needed to be shared.

i1035 FW1.1

Rock formation in the Jungfrau region with Lake Brienz in the background.

Jungfrau

Jungfrau mountain, tallest in Switzerland.

7 responses to “Swiss Alps

  1. Hi Michael, It’s the fourth of July in the USA, How are things in Germany? I am at Aunt Sharon’s. I miss you sweetie, I know I don’t see you that often, but it’s different when you’re out of the country, I just hope you are having yourself a great time,Love, Nana

    ________________________________

    • Everything is good, but it’s easier to send me an email, than comment on here, unless you want to say something about the blog of course

  2. this looks like The Sound of Music!! Glad you are able to travel so much. I am headed to Europe for Thanksgiving (munich and amsterdam) but nothing will ever beat Praha!!

  3. Your photos are always amazing! And thanks for sharing with us. When I think of Switzerland, I can’t help but to think of blowing snow. I will have to think of these pretty pictures instead.

Leave a Reply

