Walking through Tuscany

While Italy has some amazing coastlines, it also has a beautiful interior.  Some of the most iconic landscapes associated with Italy are the rolling hills of Tuscany (or Toscana in Italian).    When visiting Tuscany, you can either spend your time in larger cities such as Florence and Siena, or head out into the countryside to the numerous small villages situated on the tops of the hills.  I chose to do both, but this post will detail some of my adventures in the countryside.  I feel the best way to travel the Tuscan countryside is definitely by car.  Many of the small towns are inaccessible by train, and the public buses, while present, only run a few times a day.  However, because I was traveling alone (and cheaply), I chose to travel by bus from Siena to Montalcino and Pienza.  While this was doable, some of the bus times were very inconvenient and the routes weren’t always direct (changeovers in obscure locations).  For the budget traveler looking to explore the countryside, I suggest staying in the hostel in Siena and taking day trips out to the small towns (many buses leave from the main train station), as a room will be very expensive in the villages.

Pienza2-17

These are the fields outside of Pienza, Italy, a small town in Tuscany about an hour away from Siena.  I spent most of my time walking around the countryside outside the city walls, through the olive tree groves and wheat fields.  I was drawn to this place because of the film Gladiator (apparently this is the location where Maximus’s house and road was set).  Definitely one of my favorite movies of all time and the image of the field has stuck with me ever since it came out over 10 years ago.  I actually watched the entire movie on my iPad while sitting in the fields.  It was a bucket list thing.

Gladiator-wheat-field

Not a perfect match, but I was definitely in the right area.

Pienza2-13

Again the fields.  I love the wheat and the way it looks when a breeze blows through the entire field.

Pienza2-6

Just can’t get enough of it.  Walking through the countryside was definitely the highlight of Tuscany for me.

Pienza2-4

Grove of olive trees (I think) outside of Pienza

Montalcino5

This was a roadway in another small Tuscan town named Montalcino.  The town was situated on top of a large hill (almost a mountain) and offered some pretty amazing views of the countryside.  I really enjoyed the buildings of Montalcino, as they were noticeably aging, but in an aesthetically pleasing way.

Montalcino2

Again the streets of Montalcino.  You can start to get the impression that this town is on top of a pretty large hill.  A very small and very quiet village.

Montalcino

On the edge of Montalcino.  A lot of houses had beautiful terraces overlooking the countryside.

Pienza2-22

Road to Pienza, outside the city walls.

Pienza2-18

More Tuscan landscape.

Pienza2-23

Another shot of one of the roads I walked on with Pienza off in the distance.

Pienza2-26

After watching Gladiator in the fields, I had planned to sleep outside as well, but the mosquitos made it near impossible.  However, I did get to see this beautiful sunset.

Pienza2-27

46 responses to “Walking through Tuscany

  1. Pingback: Farmhouse Senese: € 5,500,000 | Luxury Homes in Italy·

  2. Pingback: Farmhouse San Giorgio: € 1,950,000 | Luxury Homes in Italy·

  3. Beautiful photos and subject matter! Italy is indeed ‘infinitely’ beautiful. I think I will definitely have to check this area out. Thank you for sharing these lovely shots.

    • Yes it’s quite easy to take beautiful pictures when the landscape looks like this…I recommend renting a car, you will be able to see so much more!

  4. Wonderful photos ! Love Gladiator movie,must be nice to watch the movie in the same location. Love the sunset and fields pic.

    • I know! I had planned to do more hiking but the weather didn’t cooperate. However a day outside of the walls of Pienza was pretty amazing in itself.

  5. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Infinite | wholeyjeans·

  6. we have traveled there too! such a lovely place. like you, our daughter was drawn to this very place, the undulating fields and road, and little house that beckons in the distance…we were vacationing near there and our daughter laura insisted that we drive to this very place. and i’m so glad we did. magnificent! after walking around a while and taking pics, we drove to the house and there saw photos of the gladiator’s film crew and other memorabilia. so beautiful and peaceful an area – one of my many fond memories of italy. when you put this scene together with the music and romance of gladiator, wow! what a divine elixir indeed!

    thank you so much for sharing your pictures…they are better than my own! 🙂

  7. Thank you for the post. We are in Tuscany right now and have been looking everywhere for Maximus’ home. This answers the question. We are not far away. Gladiator is my favourite film. Thank you.

Leave a comment